About Us

The Standard is the official student-run newspaper of Missouri State University. Student editors and staff members are responsible for all content. The views expressed do not represent those of the university.

First published as The Southwest Standard in January 1912, The Standard provides useful information to the MSU community, gives MSU students an opportunity to learn in a real-world, professional setting, and serves as an advertising platform for the MSU campus and the Springfield community.

The Standard has a print circulation of 5,000 and is published every Tuesday (with a few exceptions) during the fall and spring semesters. The newspaper is distributed free at more than 50 campus and downtown locations, and it's delivered to Greek houses. It is also available online at www.the-standard.org and in a digital edition at issuu.com/thestandard-msu.

If this is something that you sound interested in, you can click here to JOIN THE STANDARD.


Staff Members for The Standard

Sarah Teague - Editor-in-Chief

Carissa Codel - News Editor

Zoe Brown - Life Editor

Amanda Sullivan - Sports Editor

Kaitlyn Stratman - Photo Editor

Bill Sioholm - Video Editor

Greta Cross - Engagement Editor

Steve Tran - Photographer/Videographer

Sinjin Delmore - Photographer

Megan Burke - Photographer

Jaylen Early - Photographer

Brenna Lumley - Photographer

Alyssa Vandegrift - Cartoonist 

Madi Harper - Graphic Artist

Jadie Arnett - Graphic Artist

Claire Niebrugge - Senior Sports Reporter

Monica Blake - Sports Reporter

Stephen Terrill - Sports Reporter

Derek Shore - Sports Reporter

Connor Wilson - Reporter

Carissa Alford - Reporter

Afton Harper - Reporter

Andrew Unverferth - Reporter

Lainey Sanders - Reporter

Tinsley Merriman - Reporter

Kathryn Dolan - Reporter

Kayla Curry - Reporter

Shannon Noonan - Reporter

Benjamin Vickers - Columnist/Podcaster

Annelise Pinjuv - Columnist

Katherine Cooper - Columnist 

Jay Saxton - Columnist

Lindsay Farrow - Columnist

Cole Trumble - Critic/Podcaster

David Wheeler - Critic/Podcaster

Sarah Hollstrom - Copy Editor

Madeline Schatz - Copy Editor

Chloe Sierks - Copy Editor

Ashton Garza - Assistant Copy Editor

Diana Dudenhoeffer - Assistant Copy Editor

Lindsay Recar - Assistant Copy Editor

Jack Dimond - Advisor

Sandy King - Advertising Manager